Bats give head? Violation of academic freedom at UCC

generick

This is pretty unbelievable, but it happens to be true.

Greg Lukianoff: Sex, Fruit Bats, and Politically Correct Zoology at an Irish College

Apparently, Dr Evans showed an article on fellatio in bats to a colleague, and was accused of sexual harassment. He has now been cleared, but due to this, has been placed under extensive monitoring.

His petition is doing the rounds of academia, and has attracted such luminaries as Steven Pinker and Daniel Dennett to sign it already.

I am a UCC student, and I find this utterly reprehensible and disgraceful.

Please show your support for Dr Evans at: Stop UCC from abusing its harassment policy to limit academic freedom

The original article is here: PLoS ONE: Fellatio by Fruit Bats Prolongs Copulation Time

This is a clear violation of academic freedom, and an embarassment for UCC and Ireland more generally.

martino

That's nuts. Any idea who the injured party is? Sounds like a particularly mean, petty and vindictive character.

Didimus

Whether this is a breach of academic freedom is a moot point.
If Dr Evans brought this article to the attention of a colleague engaged in the same area of work as he is then it may well be.
If on the other hand he introduced it in a social context to someone who worked in another discipline it may not be.
And if it was the latter what are we left with?
The spontaneous introduction of the subject of fellatio, or other sexual practices, whether by fruit bats or fruitcakes, into a social workplace conversation would in some circumstances amount to sexual harassment, and would in many cases warrant some intervention from management.

Mossy Heneberry

From the article:

But thankfully, here in the United States we have the awesome protections of the First Amendment to vindicate the rights to both free speech and academic freedom. Ireland, to my knowledge, does not have such powerful protections, leaving Dr. Evans in a bind