• Due to a glitch in the old vBulletin software, some users were "banned" when they tried to change their passwords at the end of February. This does not apply after the site was converted to Xenforo. If you were affected by this, please contact us.

Different ways of electing a leader-Pros and Cons.

Windowshopper

The spate of leadership elections both in the UK and US, and the questions about the viability of Enda Kenny's leadership of FG got me thinking about the different ways parties can elect political leaders,and it made think what is the best way to elect a leader?

In my eyes the following are the different ways a leader can be elected. Which one do you think is best. I am not a political scientist so these are not official categories and mixtures of various types exist.

1) The informal approach. This was the practice of the Tory party up until the election of Heath. There wasn't a leadership election. Instead a leader would emerge after discussion between party big wigs. Advantages: the person selected would be broadly acceptable to all wings of the party and would be of proven political experience. Likewise the fact that he/she was seen as agreeable might demonstrate that he would be able to handle the various personalities in the party. Disadvantages:Such a candidate could be selected because he/she was a malleable individual who can be manipulated by the grandees. The lack of a leadership election could mean that no real stock is taking of the party's position, and a risk of stagnation might occur.

2) Parliamentary party election. The leader of the party is elected by elected members of the party.Advantages: The leader commands the confidence of his/her MPs. Disadvantage: the normal party members voice is excluded.