FF are not the problem, they are the VEHICLE for the problem.

Yes, of course I want them gone, I have been fighting them more than most for the last 13 years. But let's not delude ourselves.

Bertie Ahern and his backstreet mates BOASTED on the RTE documentary about him that they essentially used FF as a vehicle to get their man to power. They laughed as they described how they intimidated out the old boys of FF Dublin North Central and George Colley, even though Ahern had no prior involvement or affinity with FF. They boasted about their plan to get Ahern to power within 20 years, which, as they smugly said, they achieved. They were entryists. They hijacked Fianna Fáil's local party organisation as a means to an end - to gain power.

Fianna Fáil is not the proble, Fianna Fáil was a vehicle for the problem.

And that's what people need to be aware of. Yes, FF might be forced out for a generation, but the vermin, the nepotists, the sociopaths, the criminals, and the others who have helped screw our country up, will simply find another means to their end - their own self-promotion to power. Do you seriously think the likes of Ahern or Lawlor, or any of the others, would have touched FF with a bargepole had FF been a small minority party of little influence? Of course not. The next generation of Aherns will simply choose the path of least resistance, and they will judge that it is no longer FF.

So, yes, FF's destruction, if it happens, will be a good thing, and unfortunately far too late. But without strong legislation and proper leadership, plus a sea-change in culture in this country, what made FF what it was will only swap vehicles. There needs to be wholesale electoral reform and a means of preventing the kind of short-termist irresponsibility and vote-buying, and the corruption, that has characterized FF administrations over the last 40-odd years.

jackryan