Fine Gael's Rising Star in CORK South West

thetruthsback

Mr Tim Cowhig, who is an accountant by profession, is set to take the nomination for Fine Gael in Cork South West. The Bandon native has had a very successful career in the renewable energy sector. Backed by current Fine Gael TD, Mr Jim O Keffee, Mr Cowhig has topped a private party opinion poll. It's bad news for current Mayor of Cork County Council, Mr Jim Daly, who is trailing badly in third place. Daly packed in the teaching job to pursue a career in politics and may yet regret the decision. The party selection process takes place on Friday night in Dunmanaway.

True Republican

Is Sheehan running again in Cork South West, he's older than O'Keefe for crying out loud.

True Republican

Sheehans gone, nnounced it at the time of 'the incident'
Fair enough, just saw it there so will FG hold their two seats in Cork South West, its a very parohical, parish pump constituency.

True Republican

Both FGers are standing down and they will be vey lucky to hold both seats against Labour.
Can you even see FF holiding onto their one seat, might go FG 2 Labour 1.

thetruthsback

Interesting! Christy O Sullivan has a big party machine here. Son on the County Council and daughter on Clonakility Town Council. He's a reputation for hard work but if voters put country first he may go. It's a real Civil War constituency, so he may hang-on.

quitepossibly

Don't worry there's enough FF idiots around West Cork to ensure the cattle dealer is re-elected. Here are some of his achievements since entering Dail Eireann over 3 years ago:
- Convicted of drink driving
- That is all

If ever there was an ad for why we badly need to change the electoral system in this country its the constituency of Cork South West.

thetruthsback

Don't worry there's enough FF idiots around West Cork to ensure the cattle dealer is re-elected. Here are some of his achievements since entering Dail Eireann over 3 years ago:
- Convicted of drink driving