How Do You Roast Yours?

livingstone

The humbug thread made me think about the differences in how people cook their Christmas dinners. It's remarkable that a meal that - for most people - is remarkably similar (roast meat - usually poultry - roast potatoes, stuffing etc) has such differences and those differences become each families own tradition. I really quite like the idea of families doing Christmas dinner in a particular way for years and years, and those particular methods or twists etc being passed down (for good or ill) - it's a nice reminder of all that's good about Christmas.

So how do you roast yours? Assuming you do roast it, of course...

I try to avoid cooking fads - and I find the affectations of Nigella a bit grating - but I've been doing her turkey recipe for a few years and can't recommend it highly enough. The big differences are the turkey is brined overnight, and her cooking times are well below what we have traditionally been told is safe (I think you need a meat thermometer to be safe). But the result is juicy, tender, flavoursome meat - the brine breaks down the meat to make it tenderer, and gives it great flavour. And the lower cooking time means it keeps its juices.

The other thing I've found is that despite the hype of goose fat roast potatoes, beef dripping is a far superior fat for roasties - gives just as nice (or nicer) flavour, but a better crisp (sunflower oil gives the best crisp in my experience but I think a nice meaty flavour needed for Christmas dinner roasties).

Cruimh

Cruimh