• Due to a glitch in the old vBulletin software, some users were "banned" when they tried to change their passwords at the end of February. This does not apply after the site was converted to Xenforo. If you were affected by this, please contact us.

How will FG manage Dáil Committees.

The Floater

Well-known member
May 31, 2013
Just looking at the numbers,there will be around 20 Dáil Committees forming shortly and when you consider that Ministers and Junior Ministers cannot take places it means the remainder of FG TD's are going to have to be in a few places at the same time.At least it should get them a bit fitter.


Well-known member
Apr 16, 2013
ah yes, ensuring everyone in the party gets an allowance or payment of some type.

.....sure isn't this 'new politics' a wonderous thing.


Jul 5, 2008
With the same dexterity & surefootedness they handle everything else, by falling into every hole they can find, including and perhaps especially, holes of their own making.
Last edited:


Well-known member
Feb 26, 2015
Can't find this posted anywhere so here's the list of committees and the chairs of the respective ones :
Agriculture, Food and the Marine - Pat Deering
Arrangements for Budgetary Scrutiny - John Paul Phelan
Business Committee - Sean O'Fearghail
Children and Youth Affairs - Jim Daly
Communications, Climate Change and Natural Resources - Hildegarde Naughten
Education and Skills - Fiona O'Loughlin
European Affairs - Michael Healy-Rae
Finance, Public Expenditure and Reform, and Taoiseach - John McGuinness
Foreign Affairs and Trade, and Defence - Brendan Smith
The Future of Healthcare - Roisin Shortall
Health - Michael Harty
Housing, Planning and Local Government - Maria Bailey
Implementation of the Good Friday Agreement - Kathleen Funchion
Irish Language, Gaeltacht and the Islands - Catherine Connolly
Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation - Mary Butler
Justice and Equality - Caoimghin O'Caolain
Public Accounts - Sean Fleming
Public Service, Oversight and Petitions - Brendan Ryan
Rural Affairs, Regional Development, Arts and the Gaeltacht - Peadar Tobin
Social Protection - John Curran
Standing Order 112 - Colm Brophy
Transport, Tourism and Sport - Brendan Griffin

In addition to this, John Curran chaired the Housing and Homelessness Committee and Sean O'Fearghail was the chair of the Sub-Committee on Dail Reform.
Last edited:

New Threads

Popular Threads

Most Replies