Innoculating kids against Cervical Cancer

fluffykontbiscuits

fluffykontbiscuits

If you were offered a drug that would prevent you developing cancer in later life, would you accept it?
I would however do safe sexual practices not prevent spread of HPV? (Im just trying to understand it here Im not judging anyone!)...think its the same virus as the cold sore virus isnt it?

A view from England

I would however do safe sexual practices not prevent spread of HPV? (Im just trying to understand it here Im not judging anyone!)...think its the same virus as the cold sore virus isnt it?
I think the herpes virus is similar to the cold sore virus (I'm an Engineer, not a Doctor). I believe that HPV can cause cervical cancer and indeed, use of condoms would prevent transmission of HPV. That said, if everyone wore a mask then that would prevent the transmission of colds but it is unrealistic to expect everyone to do this.
My personal view is that this jab can prevent cancer and it is a no-brainer that this should be given to all young girls. I cannot see any moral issue with this. Some folk try and link the drug to sex and claim that giving young girls the drug will raise promiscuity. I struggle with this. Young girls at some point are going to have sex whether or not they have had an HPV jab. A bigger moral issue would be to offer all girls aged 13 or over a contraceptive jab. now that would be controvertial.

Aindriu

I completely agree. My 16 year old daughter - who lives in the UK with her mother, sadly for me - has been vaccinated and I am glad she has and so is she. None of the girls vacinnated at her school showed any side effects or ill affects what so ever.

The Caped Cod

I think the herpes virus is similar to the cold sore virus (I'm an Engineer, not a Doctor). I believe that HPV can cause cervical cancer and indeed, use of condoms would prevent transmission of HPV. .