Library Staff

bactrian

In the last week I have had to go to public libraries. I know "have to" suggests reluctance. It was nothing about reluctance but all about what I could access on line.

I cannot express enough my appreciation for the competence, intelligence, and enthusiasism that I have met.

Every person that I have met in the Library system has been helpful, knowlegable , and willing to help.

Lumpy Talbot

Twitter
No
They are brilliant. Quite a frustrating profession because far too many people see them as bookshelf-tidiers and they are a hell of a lot more than that. As an analyst myself I know how brilliant they can be at zeroing in on something quite arcane or suggesting research resources.

Also, in my experience it is absolutely true what they say about convent girls and librarians. I'll say no more.

Lumpy Talbot

Twitter
No
An experienced librarian with a big old library behind him or her is a bit like Virgil standing beside the Gate to the Underworld holding up a lamp and indicating the black maw...

I wouldn't go in there on my own.

Rural

My last two years in Ireland was teaching Digital Skills in libraries around the County, the library staff were the most organised I have ever worked with.

Lumpy Talbot

Twitter
No
People forget as well that since the advent of t'internets librarians are now very knowledgeable about databases that are available for free that you'd otherwise pay thousands for in a year.

And they can show you how to use them. For free. That's a good deal if you see info as currency, as the world's movers and shakers have always done.

Last edited:

Rural

People forget as well that since the advent of t'internets librarians are now very knowledgeable about databases that are available for free that you'd otherwise pay thousands for in a year.