"No Country For Women" - Irish Women's Experiences - RTE Documentary by Anne Roper

HereWeGoAgain

Excellent documentary airing currently on RTE 1, Part One was screened last night with Part Two scheduled for 9.30 p.m. tonight.

No Country For Women is a new RTÉ One series looking at Irish women’s experience of colliding with 100 years of discriminatory laws. In the centenary of women’s suffrage, documentary maker Anne Roper remembers some early inspiration…

No Country For Women looks at one hundred years of Irish women’s experience since they won the vote in 1918. It examines why the promises of equal citizenship enshrined in The Proclamation, women’s suffrage and 1922 Constitution were largely cast aside for economic and political expediency.

Anne Roper is an Executive Producer with RTE and on this documentary is the the writer, producer and director,

Her profile on Linkedin:
I've been a writer, TV producer, director & documentary maker for over 25 years. It's my view that documenting a variety of voices and experiences provides a window on society which in turn helps us decide what kind of country and democracy (when it comes time to vote) that we want to be.

As well as working in an Executive TV producer role and as the Head of the RTE TV Documentary Unit, I have produced TV, radio, published fiction and newspaper columns for The Irish Times and Irish Independent. I originate documentary and other TV formats. I also create and facilitate training courses including the RTE Producer/Director curriculum, modules on visual storytelling, story sequencing, ideas to screen, scripting to pictures, multi-platform content, directing, production and more...