• Due to a glitch in the old vBulletin software, some users were "banned" when they tried to change their passwords at the end of February. This does not apply after the site was converted to Xenforo. If you were affected by this, please contact us.

Northern Ireland's only predominantly gay rugby team

Irish-Rationalist

Meet the Azlans.

A group of dedicated sportsmen have got together to create Northern Ireland's only gay rugby team in a bid to make the game more inclusive.

Better than that, the Belfast-based Azlans club is open to all - young and old, gay and straight, complete beginners and those with a great deal more experience.

Kevin Bartlett, the man behind the team, explained: "The Azlans are actually an inclusive team. It is about welcoming everyone and making everyone feel welcome."

Antrim man Kevin, a disability support officer, has been involved in inclusive sport for the past 20 years. He was involved heavily with the Ulster Titans, Northern Ireland's first gay-friendly rugby club, before it ceased to exist.

"Like I said, the Azlans are inclusive," he continued. "Yes, the team is open to gay people, but you don't have to be gay to get involved. We're open to all.

"Yes, there are gay people who come along and feel comfortable, but it is actually about targeting everyone, for example the person who has always played Gaelic but thinks they would like to give rugby a go."

Meet the Azlans, Northern Ireland's only predominantly gay rugby team - BelfastTelegraph.co.uk

:shock2: It's "not all about being gay". However, after match shower's might prove interesting for the heterosexual GAA player who is rugby curious.

Say no more. ;)

mac tíre

We need blokesbloke in this team.

Send for blokey quick. BLOKEY! C'mon get stripped :shock: you're going on.

mac tíre

If we can persuade Matt Carthy to join I'm sure BB won't be far behind.
With his beloved Joanie as manager? He'd be over quicker than you could say...