"Number 11. Isn't that your ticket Fr. Mcguire?" Bankers get idea from Fr Ted?

Orbit v2

Charlie Weston: Scandal echoes Fr Ted raffle scam - but no one is laughing - Independent.ie
Strange one in the Indo today. If today were April 1st, you wouldn't believe it. The story is compared with a humorous skit in Father Ted, albeit one that isn't funny in real life. I'm not a lawyer or accountant but this looks a lot more than "not funny" - more like a mother lode of white collar crime and tax evasion. It's extraordinary how the story is presented as one about refunds to customers and bailouts for the institution itself, but not a sausage about criminal investigations.

wexfordman

Facepalm!!
I have a book I got about twenty years ago called "this great little nation, the A to Z of irish political scandals"

At the time, I was living and working abroad, through forced emigration, and the book made my blood boil.

It's due an update I think, but don't think my health could stand reading the revised version.

Mad as Fish

Sounds only too likely to me and will help explain why anger over the more visible pubkic corruption is not as intense as it should be, too many others are working their own little schemes as has been mentioned before. Our local credit union used to run a car lottery but nothing was ever heard of who won them, we are all entitled to tick the no publicity box, but it's not a big town and word travels, or didn't in this case.

And then there is the money that falls off the table when it is being counted at charity events......

hollandia

Sounds only too likely to me and will help explain why anger over the more visible pubkic corruption is not as intense as it should be, too many others are working their own little schemes as has been mentioned before. Our local credit union used to run a car lottery but nothing was ever heard of who won them, we are all entitled to tick the no publicity box, but it's not a big town and word travels, or didn't in this case.