Pyrite used on M3 Motorway.

FrankSpeaks

The Chief Executive of the NRA has confirmed that the mineral Pyrtie was used in the construction of the M3. The mineral expands in the presence of water and oxygen and caused structural damage to many houses in the Dublin and Meath area.

Would any engineer care to comment on the implications of its use in road construction?

j26

Looks like Tara will outlast the road then. I can't imagine that being good

Mitsui2

I'm not an engineer, but...

It expands in the presence of water?
And they used it in a road?
In Ireland?

I don't think you need an engineering degree to say "Oh dear!"

alonso

I see rte.ie are reporting that this is open ahead of schedule.... jaysus

B

birthday

if you care to read link it is apparent that it was not used as a structural fill but rather for embankments.

myksav

B

birthday

if you care to read link it is apparent that it was not used as a structural fill but rather for embankments.
Mr Barry also told Mr McEntee that “there is no use that we are aware of [of pyrite] as structural fill and the material complied with specifications for the purposes for which it was used.”

DaveM

I see rte.ie are reporting that this is open ahead of schedule.... jaysus
Depends on what you're loooking at I suppose. The construction phase is being completed well ahead of schedule. Under the terms of the contract the motorway wasn't due to open until the end of this year. However the pre-contract phase of the project dragged on forever.

B

birthday

"The real kicker is yet to come, when traffic levels will show that the taxpayer will start paying millions of euros every year to the toll company, because traffic fails to meet the traffic guarantee which was secretly written into the M3 contract by the NRA."

Spokesman for Tarawatch.
I wonder what the full details of this aspect of the contract are?

alonso