• Due to a glitch in the old vBulletin software, some users were "banned" when they tried to change their passwords at the end of February. This does not apply after the site was converted to Xenforo. If you were affected by this, please contact us.

Servicing State debt 'costs each worker €3,400 in tax a year'

SPN

This is a topic I have been highlighting for nearly ten years, especially in relation to the nonsense we hear from the Left about "Austerity".

Ireland has seen the biggest Keynesian Stimulus ever tried, per capita, since 2007, and it is the complete opposite to "Austerity".

Now we need to look closely at implications of what we have done, and the costs we are storing up for the future whenever the Draghi Put sees interest rates return to normal, possibly after a period - a crippling period - of very high interest rates as the system rebalances from the extremes the Central Bankers are forcing at the moment.

The interest on the national debt is costing each worker in the State €3,400 in tax per year, the head of the National Treasury Management Agency has revealed.

That compares with €900 in 2007, NTMA chief executive Conor O'Kelly said.

The debt pile is €207bn, the equivalent of €102,000 per employee, he added. "That is easily the highest in Europe, by a mile," he said. "It's one of the highest ratios in the world."

Ireland's debt is now four times the size it was in 2007, when it was €47bn, and while the debt-to-GDP ratio is falling as a result of the growing economy, the level of debt is not, he added.

[.....]

"It is an extraordinary environment and that leads people to believe that the crisis is over and we can move on," Mr O'Kelly said.

[.....]

"It's like saying to a household who has a very big mortgage, some credit card debt, 'why don't you go out and borrow some more money'. It's very difficult no matter how cheap it is for us to access funds at the current time," he said.