• Due to a glitch in the old vBulletin software, some users were "banned" when they tried to change their passwords at the end of February. This does not apply after the site was converted to Xenforo. If you were affected by this, please contact us.

Should generic drugs be compulsory in health care ?

Northtipp

I see the troika are putting on pressure in relation to the health service and have zoned in on the use of generic drugs. That does seem sensible to me. I am no expert, that's for sure, but I understand there can be quite substantial differences between the original brand drug and the generic spin offs. With that in mind and in an attempt to save costs should we make it compulsory to use the less expensive generic drug in any Heath care scenario, wether that be prescriptions, hospitals etc. Of course there are laws which mean the original brand cannot be substituted but that is only for a limited period of time . Beyond that the generic drug is a real and viable option.

Now the med reps won't be happy but if we are going to save money shouldn't this be considered. Let's take the vested interests out of if and lets really save money that doesn't hit our own people but rather multi national companies.

Bobcolebrooke

Generic drugs only become available when the original patent owners drugs come off patent.

Do you propose excluding all drugs that are within patent from the consumers of the Health Service?

Northtipp

Generic drugs only become available when the original patent owners drugs come off patent.

Do you propose excluding all drugs that are within patent from the consumers of the Health Service?
No I referred to that in my OP. I am referring to drugs out of patent. Apologies if I wasn't clear.

D

Dylan2010

might be a good start to close down the Irish medicine board. A good example of regulation screwing the customer for little or no benefit.

Bobcolebrooke