Varadker Slams HSE-Big deal!

riker1969

So Vlad the impaler has set his sites on over spending HSE. Its over budget by 300m. He points out our health expenditure is 5th highest in World but we dont have fifth best system.

I dont expect him to do anything. We had a golden opportunity for radical reform during crash. One basic reform would have been the elimination of excess staff in HSE by redundancy (compulsory) . I would have pursued that entire Public sector and Im a teacher.

Im fed up with both FG and FF on health service. Is it time to give somebody else a go?

devoutcapitalist

No political party has the balls to take on the unions in the HSE. It certainly won't be Sinn Fein.

tsarbomb

Tougher words have been spoken with regard to the HSE overspend in the past and the sector wasn't sorted then. I can't imagine this government will be the one to finally bring spending under control while providing a better service.

No party would do a better job I recon.

ShoutingIsLeadership

Which services would you cut, lads? Which life saving drug at 200k a pop, would you not buy? Who would you let die or suffer some more?

This is the same old bullsh1t PR from politicians trying to look tough and get attention after their holidays

sic transit

Getting his digs in before the usual annual whingefest about having run out of money, well the hospitals.

riker1969

I dont think its as simple as cutting drugs. All nations face that issue. For what we spend we dont get a good return. I dont think our population profile is worse than most EU nations?

razorblade

Who else realistically could we trust to actually be able to run it any better, there doesnt seem to be much options to choose from.

Scitlipo

So Vlad the impaler has set his sites on over spending HSE. Its over budget by 300m. He points out our health expenditure is 5th highest in World but we dont have fifth best system.